SueScape

By SueScape

Dinner Time


Walked a teeny tiny bit of the South Downs Way in the sunshine today. Lovely views, could show you lots, and yes, surprise surprise, the Cowdray Estate owns some parts of our beautiful Downs.

But I rather liked this pic of the cows dinner time at Warren Bottom farm as we passed through. Something about the patterns and light, and maybe the steaming dung heap outside ..... and the fact that I'm missing having animals in my life every day.

Purple Cow

I never saw a Purple Cow;
I never hope to see One;
But I can tell you Anyhow;
I'd rather See than be One!

Gelett Burgess


Apparently Gelett Burgess was so fed up with the runaway success of his little verse, that years later he wrote the following -

Confession: and a Portrait Too, Upon a Background that I Rue

Ah, yes, I wrote the "Purple Cow".
I'm Sorry, now, I wrote it;
But I can tell you Anyhow
I'll Kill you if you Quote it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.