Life from a City

By LeggeAngie

A Part of a Circle

Continuing the project on patterns and circles, from the mindfullness and creativity project, this is part of a circle. The circle is a bowl, and the bowl is made up of reeds, bound together in coloured grass, then, the centre is a circle that then becomes a spiral, out to the edges of the circle. It is handmade, and was bought for me in Gambia, by a friend.

I had been thinking today about how, if you go far enough away, most things become a 'circle', or a dot. Go in closer, and virtually nothing is a 'real' circle. A circle itself is an illusion, but the key aspect is that it is a continuum.  There is no start or finish, and that is like the grass wound round the reeds, it goes on, in a seeming endless way.

I forgot to put the card back in the compact camera yesterday, so no shots at work. And then it was straight from work to pick my eldest up from University, so I'm not long home. Good to have him back. I've missed him. I was thinking our children are a bit like helium balloons, tied to us by string. Our role is to hand them the scissors, so they can decide how many strings to cut and when.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.