today's another day

By dbrereton

Once a year

Once a year I give up a couple of hours to collect envelopes for a national charity.

The usual houses have an envelope ready and a smile, and get a smile back and a thank you.

Those who say no thanks also get a smile and a thank you too. For all I know they may commit to other charities, run marathons, work at the local soup kitchen or just don't want to make a donation. All of these are fine.


Then there are the 'others':


We haven't had one...

...strange I pushed one through on Sunday.


We don't have any cash in the house...

....there is no back or the sofa, and when the window cleaner calls, he's gone contactless.

I don't know where SHE keeps it [money]...

...normally an alpha male type with massive 4x4 in driveway

I'm house sitting...

...err, 3 years on the trot love? And I know you live there as I'm local


But this years WINNER and it's actually someone saying no thanks in their own way, so actually not too bad.

It was a house that had obviously clocked me coming and left the envelope HANGING OUT OF THE LETTER BOX.

Made me smile.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.