The dropped stitch

By Bodkin

Eday

Third island this week and another beautiful day for the trip!

Eday looked grand in the sunshine. Gorse in flower, blue sea and sandy beaches.

For a snack I stopped in at the new and smart looking community shop. I always like looking round these island shops. Like the old fashioned general store, their range of goods is amazing, from aspirin and apples to wellies and wall paper. Today I bought some 'smart pegs'. As far as I've observed my present pegs are not particularly smart, so high time I upgraded.

Like a couple of similar shops I've visited in Shetland, the Eday one is linked to the Co-op and the shop assistant was full of praise for the advantages this brings. Fresh fruit and veg twice a week for a start. This one really felt like a hub for the community with a bright, sunny room at the front offering free WiFi. This area looked like a cafe, but wasn't. Maybe soon?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.