Red-bellied Woodpeckers

This is the male Red-bellied Woodpecker heading back to the nest with a beak of food for the youngster.  The extra shows that the female does a much better job of carrying a good load of food back for the youngster.  Trust the women to do things better!

I had wondered why the suet was disappearing at such an alarming rate the last few days and then today I watched this couple constantly visit and take some food to eat themselves and then pack their beaks for the short flight home to the nest.

I planted a new Mahogany Splendor today.  Yay.  Glad to have one in my garden again.  

Jim then came over and took the chainsaw to my backyard neighbour's Chinese Privet.  We cut all the branches that were invading my yard and interfering with the growth of my hydrangeas and one of my dogwoods.  We had to use Jim's tractor to haul all the branches away!  

I was so glad with all that I got accomplished today but know that I will physically pay for it tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.