Love locks

I keep running into the love locks around Europe. The first time it was in Paris on a bridge near the Louvre I've had a look on Google maps and I think it was the Pont des Arts, then I run into more locks this time in Salzburg on the Makartsteg Bridge.
Then today walking around Budapest I took a short cut through the park on Erzsébet tér and I bump into more locks, this time not on a bridge but a metal railing. The thought is the same, you write or engrave you and your loves name on the padlock, lock it to the bridge, or in this case the railing then throw the key into the Danube. As long as your key stays there then you'll love will always be locked together, I know I'm an old romantic :-)

The is a cynical side to this and thats for the people who put a combination lock on the bridges, this means if the love doesn't last you can retrieve your lock, very practical :-)

Look lock large

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.