An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

Ruins of Shaftesbury Abbey & Garden

The church tower is NOT the Abbey here but the present church on the hill.

Formed in 888 AD by King Alfred as the first religious house for women in its heyday the size of the Abbey was was five times that of the Victorian church now behind it. 

I had visited the enclosed stone walled 3 (my pound sign isn't working!) entrance museum about fifteen years ago and remembered nothing of it, this morning. A really chilly wind whipped along the ridge that Shaftesbury sits on when I finally got off the bus after the 75 minute journey.

The relatively sheltered gardens kept those chills at bay and and the scattered ruins set in a nice mix of formal lawns and interestingly 'rustic' nooks and crannies, a traditional herb garden, all tastefully numbered with audio guides - which I declined, people always seem to be listening to them as if on their mobile and stand around occasionally moving from time to time. I rather insisted on the laminated printed and bound guide with a map, which was far more intuitive and I could pick and choose what and when I looked at.

 I did also rather like the scattering of wooden Director style chairs, that matched the colour of the stone, two of which you can see here.

I spent about 90 minutes here, the modern but ultimately rather starchy interior displays offering little interest to me. Most folk would find an hour adequate. It is open 1st April to end of October and for the price, well worth the visit.

Gold Hill, at the moment, is a disappointment. The nearest house (the Gallery) to the top is fully scaffolded and you have to either zoom in or walk down the hill a bit to exclude it.  

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.