Off the cuff

By asharples

Castle on the crag

Today, after the sunday chores, we decided to visit Beeston castle. Located southish of Warrington in the nice little village of Beeston.

I was hoping that it was going to snow heavily and thus be granted some excellent white wintery vistas. Infact the weather man had said that it "would be wintery and snowy". Instead the sun popped out behind one of the clouds bathing us and the castle in warm sunshine, ruining it.

I used to visit the castle with my parents many, many years ago and remember being able to run up and down the steep climb, waving a wooden sword whilst pretending to attack imaginary hordes of English scum (I'm Welsh BTW). However it seems that they may have increased the gradient somewhat as I don't remember it being that steep. Phew.....more time at the gym I think.

At the top you get fantastic views of the whole of the Cheshire plain. Chester, the Welsh hills, Moel Famau and also Manchester and the peak district are all visible (on a good day).

It is rumoured that there is treasure belonging to Richard II buried somewhere on the crag. However the current owners, English Heritage have extensively searched the area and not found any trace of it.

After our exploration of the keep, we decided to head over to the Cheshire Ice Cream Farm. But when returning to the car realised neither of us had brought any cash. I guess my yearly fix of farm ice cream will have to wait.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.