Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Archie gets a present...

Gym ✔️

Today I did 20 minutes on the low bike, because all the cross trainers were in use, and anyway, my wee pal Mary was on the other low bike. She's in her 80s, and she comes to the gym twice a week, she chats to everybody, and the coaches love her and really look after her. She's a delight.

After that 20 minutes, I did another 20 minutes on the cross trainer! 40 minutes hard exercise! Mind you, JR did TWO fitness circuits - an hour of high level exercises!!

Meanwhile, TWO walkers had arrived to take Archie out, though only one was in his diary. Jordan hadn’t booked him, but Anne had. Popular boy! I was telling him all day that a 'present' was arriving for him.

We both then had a very busy day. I took the old BBQ and bench ends to the dump, then I cleaned the car. JR painted the new bench black. I painted the old bench black and tarted it up to be moved to the back garden. And I didn’t get any paint on my clothes!

All day we awaited Archie's 'present'. It arrived at 5pm, and I think he was rather suspicious...

I put it on him. He knew immediately, as we had another less successful version. He barked at the lady coming out of her house opposite, and he was greeted by a noise. A very annoying noise. He didn’t like it. We then called the neighbours out to the back garden - he walked over to them without a peep. This is unheard of - he usually greets their door opening with hysterical barking, and they often decide just to shut the door and go back in. So this is a HUGE improvement.

I took him for a walk, but unfortunately we didn’t meet any dogs, but the big test will be tomorrow morning, sitting outside while people go by.

He'll learn quickly, and will be a much more agreeable little companion then.

Extra - Archie rolling happily in the grass before he knew about his 'present'. Photo by Anne.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.