Old Father Thames

I can't deny that SW London still feels like home to me and going on the River Thames very much part of that. This morning, while the ladies watched the Royal Wedding, I took the bus to Hampton Court, only ten minutes ride away, and as a river steamer was just about to leave I jumped aboard and had a ride downriver to Kingston. The jetty is just beside Hampton Court Palace so as the boat leaves a good view opens up. 

The river was full of yachts, rowing boats, tour boats - and many skiffs. There was obviously a rowing race of some sort going on and the boat skipper had a job to avoid them all. 

I had a walk round historic Kingston's Market Place - see extra - and had a picnic lunch in the shady churchyard before returning to Hampton Court.  A beautifully sunny and warm day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.