Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

A wow day

Since I had not had a good long walk in a while..even though the cousin and I walked at the beach we did not walk a mile..so today I made my way over to the river walk area.  I knew the Rocky Shoals Spider lilies were blooming in the river so I actually took the tripod to put the SX60 on so I could zoom all the way out to get the lilies..which are usually in the middle of the river!   

So I took photos and more photos but then as we were walking back to the car, we spied a spot of red..woohoo..a pileated woodpecker!!   I had to hurry and put the camera back on the tripod in order to get some photos.  He was pretty far away sitting on a log eating grubs or something so I had to wait for him to turn his head..and he was constantly moving which is not a good thing with the digital zoom on the SX60.  But I got a few photos that were not too terrible fuzzy of his head.  This is about the best one.  

In the extra a photo of the spider lilies..still growing wildly in the river!   Notice the turtles basking on the rocks too..we must have seen over 100 turtles in the four mile roundtrip along the walking path.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.