Yahooooo!

Well, I am riding high tonight. All that training, physio, pedalling, stretching and getting used to cold water has paid off. The weather was glorious and the water temperature was just over fourteen degrees. I mastered my breathing and did a lot of crawl so I am really pleased.

There were four waves entering the water, the first did 5k, the second were sub thirty minute swimmers (the fastest swimmer completed the mile in just over fifteen minutes which is seriously impressive), the third wave were sub forty minutes and the last wave combined the sub fifty and over fifty minuters. I had booked in to the over fifty minutes but I hoped I might just crack fifty mins....I was so chuffed to find out I did it in 45 mins and 46 seconds.

As I was approaching the finish I was delighted to see Sue, Sabine and Lucy had come to see me finish. I changed then donning my medal proudly we went over to Media City and had a cocktail in the Botanist. Sue and I stayed there and ate in the sunshine....I was ravenous by then!

What a champion day! Now that I’ve had a shower, washed the wetsuit and made myself a cuppa I can catch up on the royal wedding.

Thank you for all the lovely messages yesterday, you are a wonderful bunch x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.