But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Diana and Scones

Back in the mists of time, I joined the U3A reading group; I didn’t really want to,what I was looking for was a poetry group and this was the nearest I could find. It was all fairly relaxed, no set book to read, everyone took along what they had just read and told the rest of us about it – I took along a poem, read it, and we discussed it. I must have been a good ambassador as, after a few meetings, it was agreed that we all take along both a book and a poem and some members who would never have considered looking at a poem started to enjoy the experience. Time passed and we started to have themed meetings, on Monday it’s “fashion.” There’s no compulsion to stick with the theme but that’s irrelevant since is usually possible to twist whatever you happen to be reading to approximately fit – a practice known as Penny’s amendment since it was her  who discovered that it was easier than trying to find a book specifically for the occasion. It happens that Diana’s Story is an excellent book, though it won’t be popular since it charts the final few years of the lady’s life, in the ‘80s, as she suffered from the devastating effects of the then unknown disease of myalgic encephalomyelitis (it's a pity about the crappy picture on the cover). I started reading it this morning; I find that, unless I leave reading it until the last minute, I can't remember any details at the meeting.
 
The scones are completely unconnected; tomorrow (Sunday), The Friends of Roslin Glen are holding a duck race and need refreshments to bolster their income - while the beekeeping club are holding a meeting at my apiary and also need refreshments though not any income. I had to sample one to ensure that it passed muster, then another two to ensure that the quality was consistent.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.