An Unkindness of Ravens

By Nevermore

The resident echidna again

Lovely day to spend in the garden - mowing the lawn (and then the lawn mower broke yet again - all the oil came out, again... it vibrates so much the screws come loose!), weeding and getting the watering system semi-working after it's winter break, ready for the hot weather (the pump needs attention though, but at least the tanks are full).

Heard lots of rustling in the undergrowth, down on "snake hill" (a part of the garden that is even more un-tended than the rest, where I can't mow and it's too steep for me to go with the whipper snipper and about 40 years worth of gum tree litter makes an ideal snake habitat!) Luckily it was the echidna, who was so intent on snuffling up the ants (it does make a very snuffly noise as it sticks its nose in the soil and vacuums them up!) that it didn't seem to notice me standing very still about a foot away from it.

Also took lots of photos of the blue tongue (same one as last week), but as I see that more often than the echidna, I thought I'd save it for another day.

See the soil all over its face!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.