Granada D24 - Street

Just returned from our overnight trip to Granada. Fun trip! The visit to the Alhambra yesterday was spectacular. My favorite part of that was the 'summer residence' which sits right above the Alhambra. I can see why it would've been a place of rest and 'zen': manicured gardens and mazes, rose gardens, fountains everywhere, wide open views: very relaxing! (maybe also because there were fewer tourists cluttering up the space: it did require another 15mns walk uphill to get there...). Surprisingly, the Alhambra sits right above town and within walking distance (see extra). For those of you who are friends with me on FB, the complete set is there -- as a placeholder until I can wrap my head around writing a more thorough article.

My second favorite thing was a 'non tourist' walk about in the city with another member of the group and I could indulge in a bit of street photography and just observe what Granadians do on a weekend.  We just decided to set out and go wherever our feet might take us. After being doused by a passing thunderstorm, we found (quite by accident I might say) the Albayzin neighborhood: that's the Arab quarter of the city with winding cobblestone streets heading uphill, al-hal groceries, casbahs, stores with Arabic names, and lots of goods for sale. It almost felt as though we'd left Spain :) 

We sat down for a quick dinner to close the evening with good conversation (btw, in Granada, you get free tapas with each drink you order!) Again, the pix from that and today's wandering about are on FB.

Yesterday, I broke a new record for the numbers of steps I took -- according to my fancy Apple watch ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.