MerlinJ

By MerlinJ

Fireworks

A late-posted blip because I wanted to see if I could catch the village fireworks display with my camera phone. It was a lovely evening, with the whole village turning out, and lots of visitors too. Our community coppers kept the traffic slow so we could safely spill onto the roads. The two pub landlords did roaring trade, and drinkers spread out into the gardens and car parks to get a better view. Five braziers were burning on the village green, and one of the farmers cooked up burgers to feed the body and soul.

A small group of villagers rattled buckets to raise money for the community - we have a commitment to making this event, and the Highland Games (our main community highlight of the year) free for all spectators.

I appreciate that a camera with manual controls, or the ability to change the shutter speed/aperture would have given me more ability to capture the fireworks in a way that reflected the true spectacular explosions, colours, star-bursts and sparkles. But I'm happy that this one that I've blipped - which was the last firework of the night - captures feelings and the values of the event, even more than just the visuals.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.