Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Last Day Walk

Surprisingly, it wasn't until the last morning of the holiday that I actually went out for a walk.  The advice given on the first day was to stay within the lodge grounds so it limited my normal routine considerably.  Still, according to my activity monitor I managed to get in my normal daily requirement of activity each day.

Sekhweri, the highest qualified guide at the lodge, took me out for what turned to to be a 3 mile game walk.  Even as we left the gate we were spoilt to see these mongoose cross in front of us.  While I'd been warned that on foot we would see very little compared to riding, these little fellas came running past us in their mob, before stopping to check us out.

After the walk there was just time to throw the clothes into the suitcases, have a small lunch and then it was time to leave.  We'd already seen from previous departures of guests that the staff all turn out to wave us off.  It was difficult to hold back the tears; these people had become friends over the time we were here.  It's utterly impossible to single out any of the staff for individual praise.  The approach of all staff was exemplary and made the whole stay one of the most memorable ever.

Then it was a three hour drive to the airport.  OR Tambo airport was manic on this Saturday afternoon.  I again got warned about the weight of my camera bag; how on earth you are supposed to transport any meaningful amount of camera equipment as cabin baggage, unless you are willing to pay for business or first class travel (they have a more generous allowance), is beyond me.  If I'd brought the Nikon equipment it would have been worse still.

By the time we took off we were 6 hours in to a 28 hour homeward journey.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.