Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

Black Cat

A busy day today. A friend from Darwin who had stayed overnight left in the morning after we walked the dogs at Horseshoe beach. Quickly packed and then Hannah and I did a visit at the nursing home. Onwards to Sydney but dropped in at the Rathmines Catalina Festival. During World War II there was a RAAF base at Rathmines where the Catalinas were based. If you are interested about the base see here.

The Historical Aircraft Restoration Society (HARS) flew this fully restored Consolidated PBY Amphibious Catalina from Albion Park (south of Sydney) in the morning and I was there for it's leaving. I have posted some of the take off and fly by on flickr if you are interested. I chose this one because it shows the size of it (which was enormous).

Family dinner in Sydney - mainly to celebrate my birthday which is today. Excitement tomorrow as I will be heading to Blackheath to check out day 2 of the Rhodo festival and meet up with the Blackheath blippers. On the dongle so apologies but I am going to be slow on the commenting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.