Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Yellow flag

When I walked Hazel Sunday a week ago I saw that the yellow flags (wild irises) were coming into flower.  There are a lot round here growing in the water meadows and when they catch the sun they really shine.  So this morning I took my camera out straight after breakfast.  This was my reward.  They are beautiful, aren't they?

The rest of the morning I spent doing everyday things, then in the afternoon I sat in the sun in the conservatorey and fell asleep over a book - before waking with a shock to the most terrific thunder and rain storm.  The garden and my new grass seedings will have loved that and now I won't have to water the garden so I love it too.

Happy Monday evening  xx


2018 wildflowers to date:

JANUARY
Snowdrops
FEBRUARY
Gorse (or furze);  Wild daffodils
MARCH
Coltsfoot;  Primroses;  Blackthorn
APRIL
Greater periwinkle;  Goat willow;  Ground ivy;  Cowslips;  Daisy;
Common field speedwell;  Wood anemone;  Greater celandine
MAY
Cuckoo flower (or lady’s smock);  Yellow archangel;  Common dog violet;
Crab apple;  Bluebell;  Red clover;  Germander speedwell;
Three-cornered leek;  Hawthorn;  Yellow flag;

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.