Leiflife

By Leiflife

Dancing with My Father...in New Orleans

On Thursday I braved the city to see the location of my coming performance: The Marigny Opera House. By exiting the interstate on Franklin Ave. I found myself in a quaint and timeless feeling neighborhood. Small one story buildings, often in pastel colors, beautifully shabby invited me to a New Orleans that was new yet familiar. The old church beckoned me from a distance and I parked easily, close to its dignified beauty. 

I walked to a side entrance where several young people were carrying equipment into the building. They were preparing for a screening event, but seemed to think it alright for me to enter. I was early, so had time to take a few photographs before meeting with David Hurlbert, the director of the Opera House, which has its own dance company, but encourages other events during its off season months. He was warm and gracious, completely welcoming of this "older" dancer from Mississippi. I found him easy to be with, and as he showed me around, I found myself growing more relaxed and happy about the upcoming performance. The building itself has an ambiance  that appeals to my sensibilities and calls to my soul. I left New Orleans knowing that I would feel at home dancing within its embrace. I include photos of the church: outside, inside, and one of me taken by Summer Baldwin in the park last spring.

The performance is co-hosted by the Woman's Caucus for Art of Louisiana. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.