*¨*:•Everyday Magic•:*¨*

By Squatbetty

Basking crow

This photograph won't win any awards but very glad I captured it as I've never seen a crow sunbathing before. I've seen blackbirds and robins doing it, but not crows. He had his wings spread out, his feathers all puffed up and his beak open. Looked quite bizarre! 

He seemed very contented and happy to be so close - he definitely recognises (and semi-trusts) us now. It almost felt like he just wanted to hang out with us for a bit.

As always in these situations I didn't have my big lens with me so couldn't get a good close up. It's hard to see, but he had a look of ecstasy on his face! He stayed like this, in a sort of trance, for about 15 minutes, then grabbed some food and went on his way. Love him :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.