Doyley22

By Doyley22

TWO BEAUTIES

Yesterday, Ninniex, the Driver and myself went to the West End of Rottnest Island - I hadn't been there for forty years and I rode there on a bike!  It's some way with up and down and there is always a breeze to contend with.   It's great to see the improvements.  We were lucky to see New Zealand fur seals (so the sign said), pelicans and many other birds.

Today, before leaving the island for home, I decided to head to the West End again.  On the way out on the bus (I wasn't quite up to riding all that way just yet) I spotted ospreys in the nest that has been there for years.  The bus driver kindly stopped for me to alight but would you believe, the osprey had left the nest by the time I reached the sight.  Undeterred, I walked further along the road and into the knee high bushes (and snakes had been seen) and there, sitting nicely were two osprey.  The nest is on a large piece of limestone perched high above the water.  I was thrilled - to say the least.  Ok they weren't taking off, landing or flying - they were showing themselves to the world by being where they were.  Stunning birds.  
Later, on the way back to the settlement from the West End, the bus driver stopped to allow a snake cross the road!!  Unfortunately, I'd packed my camera away.   
Another day of excitement in paradise.

If you are interested, I have now posted a blip for yesterday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.