It's life, Jim

By BoxBootley

Exam part 2

The exam is over.

There was no Armada portrait in section A and B which was excellent.

There was no Queen Elizabeth I in Section A and B which was not so great.

There were no Ambassadors in Section A and B which was not so great.

There was the WORST portrait in the world for Section A and B so it's a great job I planned each portrait or I would have lost 50% of the marks. I'm actually so thrilled that I prepped notes for each section and portrait otherwise that would have honestly been the worst exam I've ever taken. The source was the portrait of the guy leaning on the tree by Nicholas Hilliard. I just linked it to love/romance in section A and then Shakespearan romanticism, Sumptuary Laws and the differences between Medieval and Renaissance portraiture styles. So I still achieved my little "3 paragraph minimum" rule. I really wish I'd have had my good luck poker chip with me but I couldn't and still can't find it anywhere. I always scratch a little bit of the design from the front of it (it's not a real chip it's a keyring version with cards on the front) and as that little bit of design falls off it feels like luck. I know that sounds crazy but it's like it has a placebo effect because I feel it's true. 
Section C was a lovely essay. The question basically stated the Oxford English Dictionary's definition of "Discovery" (I was obviously choosing the discovery themed question, didn't even read the other options) and it was something about "physical space discovery" and "knowledge discovery" which is basically one can be FOUNDED and one can be LEARNT but both are classed as discoveries. We had to link this to our chosen works (mine were The Tempest, The Armada Portrait and A Briefe and True Report) and I was basically able to write out the entire essay I had planned but then added in extra links to the actual question (as I noticed a discovery theme recurrence in past exams so I just wrote a generic essay on discovery leaving out any links). 

The essay that was meant to take 1 hour literally took me 30 minutes and I was purposely writing slower so I wouldn't look too rushed. On the whole, that essay has to get at least 35-40/50 marks because it was very critical and I linked it A LOT (I hope) I definitely didn't waffle on as I already prepared the essay beforehand and was able to cut those parts out so it shouldn't be reduced for that. 

I feel less good about the Section A and B questions. I feel like I have a 15/25 for Section A and a 15/25 for Section B. But overall, that ends up as a 65-ish so I suppose it isn't too bad, especially for the source that showed up, just hope my averages stay good after that!

Because I set my own criteria in the introduction of each essay, they can't mark me down for not covering the whole period (if I didn't) or a broad range of topics etc, because when you set a criteria you're directly telling the reader where your essay will stand and that way you're reducing how broadly you have to answer it, which I ALWAYS do so I can limit how much I revise to make it as efficient and significant as possible.

It's now just over 11 am and I have about 3 hours to chill at home with my cat before I'm going out for a "virtual reality" competition/gaming event where free drinks have been provided. I can't imagine being drunk and playing virtual reality at the same time but I bet it'll either be hilarious or extremely discomforting. Either way, I think it'll be a laugh and a good way to celebrate the end of Year One!

I can't wait for tomorrow to start my training for my (hopeful) new job so here's to that!

I'm just nervous about the final 3 grades I haven't had back yet (this exam being one of them) so here's hoping they're all decent enough!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.