a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Nativity

Tiny Tuesday: Nativity

Ever wondered where all those green fly aphids come from?

I spotted this little lot first thing, whilst desperately casting around for some Tiny Tuesday subject material.  No Gardener wants to find aphids on their plants, so needless to say, Cathy's not going to be at all pleased about this discovery.

I think that this may be a Macrosiphum Hellebori, or the Hellebore Aphid.  In Europe these aphids overwinter in the egg stage.   But in the UK females are able to overwinter and give birth to live young.  There's probably some Brexit related gag in there, but I'm too tired this evening to try to work it out - it has been a long, long day.


... and yes, in case you are wondering I've recently changed my username, which I am expecting will cause endless confusion for several months yet - which despite what some might think is not the reason that I've done it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.