Am I coming or going?

The cotoneaster is still going strong, with plenty of bee activity.  I have some pin sharp shots of honeybees nose deep in the flowers, but I loved this shot.

Broadly speaking, three types of bee visit my garden - honeybees, various types of small to moderate sized black bumbles (which never sit still) and huge bumbles. The bright, slanting afternoon light made it very difficult to see through the viewfinder at times and for some reason I struggled to focus on the lone huge bumble far more than the honeybees.

This was a lucky shot - it had actually taken off and I thought initially that it had its back to me as if saying 'I'm off'. A closer look on the computer and some processing revealed the opposite posture; it had obviously 'pushed back' (or more likely bounced off the bush) in true aircraft fashion before zooming off.

Not bad for my first flight shot of the year! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.