But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

House Sparrow.

We had a bag of horse hair and corgi fur for the birds today, so I plonked a camping stool on the edge of the garden, made the camera ready, spread the hair liberally over the lawn, sat down and waited. It has been commented that the birds that visit our garden are particularly tame.
 
Quite soon, a couple of jackdaws arrived, investigated the offerings, decided that there was nothing worth their while bothering with and buggered off. I managed a few dozen shots of them walking away but nothing worth keeping. Then there was a blackbird that pottered around for a few minutes chasing worms but not posing for me. Finally, the sparrow came along and gathered a few dandelion seeds that were blowing about before joining the jackdaws.
 
After half an hour I tried a different strategy, draped myself in camouflage netting and sat there looking like a prat for a further thirty minutes during which time, absolutely nothing happened; so I went indoors to check what there was in the camera. When I looked out a few minutes later, a single jackdaw was gathering the last of the hair – he flew off as I picked up the camera.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.