A Little Pot

No, not that kind! A few of you asked to see my very first attempt at making a pot. Well...here tis. Not fancy or special in any way except to me. I also made pieces for a wind chime. A new friend took this shot for me. We completed our Sgraffito project started yesterday. Sgraffito is a technique in which a layer of glaze is applied to an unfired ceramic piece, in our case a plate. Then various tools tools are used to scratch into the surface, exposing the underlying color, working with 'positive and negative' space. The plates will then be fired which will give them a shiny, glass like surface. Check the *extra for what my plate looks like before firing. The studio will fire all of our pieces and then mail them to us in the weeks to come. Can't wait! 
I apologize to all of you for not visiting your journals and in most cases not even answering your kind comments on my blips of late. I'm so exhausted by the end of the day and then we usually have an evening activity in addition to our very full days. This evening a Corning Museum librarian gave a presentation on 'Women in Glass', the role that women have played through the ages and today in the production of glass. Fascinating stuff! Tomorrow we begin our two day adventure into 'glass blowing' Watch this space!:)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.