D Day!

It was back to Home Park again at day break today - it looked as if nothing was happening on the swan's nest. I went off to check the goslings up at the Long Water, then made a turn by the swan's nest on the way out of the park. I thought I could hear faint cheeping sounds - then, suddenly, I spotted a little wet head! Well, needless to say I was so excited. I had a big zoom so was able to keep well back while taking close up shots. When I left after a couple of hours four cygnets had hatched. I popped back this afternoon - Mum was still on the nest - by this time it was really hot and the nest is in full sunlight. When she stood briefly I thought I counted 8 babies - difficult to say as she did not really lift up too much. I feel so privileged to have seen these babies hatch - so special. You can see three more photos in my extras.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.