Better Days

We had a lovely day at Longshaw today. My main task was to do some nestbox monitoring. Again it was a nil return, but that was no great surprise as there are only 5 boxes to check, and there were no takers last time. That done, my aim was to get a photo of one of the many Green-veined White butterflies, preferably showing the underwing with the distinctive markings. The only one I managed had clearly seen better days, but it looked so nice on the dandelion clock despite this. I did get a photo of a better specimen but with the wings open, so I put this in extras, along with with a photo of a Mallard which arrived in a pool on the brook and splashed and preened unaware that it was being watched. we also saw a red deer and a brown hare.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.