Remembrance

Finally finished my piece for the Sandown Quilt Show. The theme was Remembrance and this is called 'The Cost of War'.  I have made it with my TEA group. We started the project by all taking something along and sharing it out. Then we had to make something using a bit of everything we had been given. I had pretty much decided what i wanted to make so this made it harder. All the fabrics and things I was given are hidden, as I wanted to emphasis that there is so much that has gone before that we forget or don't know about. I really wasn't happy with the piece.  Also I was inspired by the war graves and my research demonstrated the vastness of these

I went to a talk by Sarah Impey who sewed a lot of text on her quilts - in fact that was all they were. This gave me the idea of doing something similar. I found statistics on the web, so I cannot guarantee how accurate they are and used this information to write a list of costs. Also I included memorable battles of WW1.

I had a huge problem with the printed images as these were printed onto silk organza, which seemed impossible to bond onto synthetic organza. Bondaweb to the rescue, however, the heat made the synthetic organza go all wavey. ammph!  I was intending to layer strips of organza, so I decided to lightly bond these layers, which worked in straightening the organza.  The organza strips are only in place at the top so the text underneath can be read.

Done! I have to say I am pleased with results. I have included pictures of our relatives.

The middle row, or top row in the thumbnail is:
Mr PBs Grandfather (fathers side)
My Great uncle Doug
Mr PBs Grandfather (mothers side)
My Grandfather

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.