Welcome to Prague

We were up at 5.15am, on our way to the airport at 6am and checked in by 7am. The airport was very busy even at that early hour!

Our flight was on time, and it only took an hour and a half to get to Prague, our taxi was waiting and we were at the hotel by 1pm which was great considering the hours’ time difference. Our room wasn’t ready until 2pm but they gave us a voucher for a welcome drink, so we sat outside in the sun and had a glass of prosecco while we waited. We also had a bowl of beef broth which was very nice.

Our hotel is in an excellent location in the pretty small square which is just off the main Old Square and is in walking distance to the river and the Charles Bridge, so once we’d unpacked we went exploring.

They sell a lot of Czech Garnets here and we came across a jewellers that had a liquidation sale and mum bought me a lovely pair of earrings, and I treated myself to a ring. We then walked over the Charles Bridge and sat and had a drink by the river, but while we were there, the weather changed and it starting raining quite heavily. We were ok though as we were sat under an umbrella, so waited for it to pass before heading back.

Tonight we decided to eat in the restaurant adjoining the hotel and had a lovely meal - we had steak on a bed of roasted vegetables with a sauce that tasted like soy sauce, it was very nice and my steak was cooked perfectly! My starter was a little unusual in that I had fried foie gras on soft gingerbread, but it came with a chocolate sauce and what appeared to be ice cream! The foie gras was nice but I don’t think the ice cream and chocolate sauce really went very well with it.

Anyway it’s been a lovely first afternoon here and both mum and I have liked what we’ve seen so far. I struggled with my Blip, but both NickyR and CharlotteJ liked this photo that I’d posted on Facebook, so I decided on this one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.