A little bit of Ventnor

Another great day - a little hazy first thing, but becoming warm and sunny.

The National Trust garden at Mottistone Manor was our first stop. The Trust is using this garden as an experiment into growing more tender plants in view of climate change, but last winter was unusually wet and cold and many plants suffered.

We went on to Sandown to have a picnic on the seafront to please my dear old aunt, but sitting on a seat on the prom with cars parking right behind us, stacks of tables and chairs in front of us and demolition going on over the road with dust carried to us on the breeze wasn't ideal! She enjoyed it though and she and my sister stayed on while Mrs M and I drove up to Culver cliff, with its extensive views. Bembridge Fort, which I would have liked to see, was fortunately open only on Tuesday, which this was, but only by pre-arranged guided tours, which we hadn't! Not to worry - we went on the the cliff-top hotel for a cup of tea, only to find that it was closed on Tuesdays! Grrr!

After dinner in the Spyglass Inn, a Ventnor beach-side restaurant, we had a walk along the sea-front in the sunshine - this is my Blip today. My extra is of the Isle of Wight paddling pool on the Esplanade - I remember this from many years ago!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.