lyndon

Leah and I got up super early, got some breakfast tacos (as one is wont to do in Austin, yes?), and headed over to our old haunt--the lab where we first met and fell in love. Then, Leah disappeared, linking up with her old mentor and professor to finalize some research on a paper they are going to publish. I, on the other and less-productive hand, headed over to one of my other old haunts, the coffee shop/bar across the street from where we used to work. The morning was still cool, the humidity (and the crowds) had not yet come in, so I wanted to enjoy a (double) espresso out on the porch. Headed over to one of my favorite libraries (the University of Texas campus has many; almost one for each discipline, or at least used to), finding that due to cutbacks the weekend hours had been drastically cut--so, still several hours until they opened. There is always the main branch, open 24 hours, but lugging all of my camera gear, computer, books, and paperwork was a bit of a chore (and the humidity finally arrived--ah yes, didn't forget about you Central Texas swampiness!). On a tip from Kathryn, thought I would go up the street in the car to check out the LBJ Presidential Library and Museum area--this Blip is a headshot of a life-size sculpture of the guy. Found out much of that, too, was closed and/or under construction. As I mentioned yesterday, Michale and Mel are in town for FFFFest, so I met up with them at an old favorite, Kerbey Lane Cafe for a beer and some pancakes before they headed off on the bikes to the concerts and I headed back to the library, now finally open for business. Been here for a few hours now--I imagine Leah will be done with her meetings/work soon as well. This Blip had way too much information. The play-by-play was highly unnecessary and I apologize. I'm just starting to get a little bored, a little antsy to get out of here. Cheers, friends!

EDIT: man, last year's Blip... haven't seen that kid around much since then, maybe just once or twice.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.