Explore, Dream, Discover

By Snowcycle

Armoury, Pitlochry

I wake at 5:20, get shaved,showered and dressed. Looking out of the window, it has been raining. My heart sinks a little. I hope it doesn't rain anymore as the course will be slippery. I have my usual carbo loading breakfast of muesli and toast. I head for the start at 6:26. 9 minutes later I start.

The roads are initially damp as we head north out of Pitlochry. We turn on to the B8019 to head west. Thankfully, as we head, the roads dry. There's a new 4km climb on the route this year from Tummel Bridge. Initially steep, it soon slackens off, then is a steady 5 to 6%. At the top, we almost do a 180, and head down a nice fast descent to the B846.

Then we do a circuit of Loch Rannoch. Its has become very windy, so it helps to ride in a group. Atthe end of the circuit, there is the only timed climb of Schiehallion. Not my fastest time, but I overtake lots of riders.

The top of the climb opens up on to a plateau, and you really feel the wind. The wind is still there as I take the fast descent, and for the ride out along Glen Lyon. That's good I say to a fellow rider, it should be behind us for the final push.

It is for a bit, then at Dull (twinned with Boring in Oregon), the wind is in our face again. Five riders get together to ride with each other to Logierait. Logierait is the last climb on th ecourse. you have to be in the right gear as you turn left, and straight in to a wall of a climb. I am, an dI manage to power up the climb, before zooming down to Pitlochry, and the final sprint to the finish line.

I cross the finish line, and get my official time 04:42:09, 19.1 mph not bad. You can see the route at Relive here

After a post ride shower and change, I head down to the finish. I get a photo of some riders crossing one of the timers for the final sprint. I wonder what the woman on the right is looking at as the cyclist passes her.

Then I head to the Escape Route café for lunch. I get a window seat next to the finish line. (Extra 2).

After lunch, I head back to the Event Village, wonder around, the go for a walk to prevent my legs getting too stiff. I head up to Armoury Rd. This leads to the Armoury (main blip). There seems to be someone looking out of the building (Extra 3)

Back to the Event Village. Its all quiet now. I go to the Calluna café for afternoon coffee (and cake) Then I head back to the hotel for a wee rest before heading up to Mackay's to meet a friend for a evening meal, and a few beers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.