RobSmallshire

By RobSmallshire

Kragerø

I wake early. Too early. Porto is noisy at 5 am.

In spite of – or perhaps because of – having grown up in a large conurbation, whenever I’ve lived in a city I’ve progressively migrated out of it. Leeds. Glasgow. Oslo. Always the same result of moving at least 30 km away to be in more peaceful situations, but near enough for the conveniences and attractions that cities bring.

Austin and I decide to beat the rush-hour, and breakfast at the airport. After breakfast we say our goodbyes and head for our respective flights. Mine to Lisbon, then Oslo. His to Amsterdam, then Stavanger.

A short turboprop hop to Lisbon and into the lounge for lunch, then onwards for four hours to Oslo. I’m happy to have sold consulting time today, and this is my first experience of air travel time being billable hours. I write tests and code, stopping only for my business class lunch of veal and vegetables. As usual my time in the air is uncommonly productive. Maybe it’s the mild hypoxia.

We fly over Spain, France, the Netherlands, and skim the coast of Denmark over the Skagerrak. Then, Norway!

I identify the Kragerø archipelago on the coast of Telemark, skirted by the remarkable moraine of Jomfruland in the seaward side. I remember its lighthouse and large population of red squirrels.

Soon I’m back in Oslo, and then home, where the weather is spectacular. It’s great to see the kids, and be reunited with Liz.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.