Pictorial blethers

By blethers

The ribbed sea sand...

I can't see sand like this without the accompanying mantra going off in my head:
         'I fear thee, ancient Mariner!
         I fear thy skinny hand!
        And thou art long, and lank, and brown,
         As is the ribbed sea-sand.'

And shortly afterwards the immortal lines: 
              'The many men, so beautiful!
              And they all dead did lie:
              And a thousand thousand slimy things
              Lived on; and so did I.'

I think The Rime of the Ancient Mariner may have given me my first moment of appreciation of the power of enjambement, the run-on, non-grammetric line that here underlines the idea of living on beyond what is normal or desirable. I must have been about 14 at the time.Marvellous.

But the photo? Yes, it is sand, the low-tide sand of the Ardyne shore, where my pal and I couldn't resist removing our sandals for a paddle before walking back along the road to the car on our gritty feet. Such a glorious afternoon was surely meant for mandatory paddling ...

I shall be on holiday for a bit; Blips may be delayed by lack of signal, and I won't have much time for browsing, but it should be interesting - a change from rhododendrons and gorse! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.