Flowers et al

By dandylion

Visas and misleading adverts

Today I spent about two hours waiting for my Chinese visa application to be checked at their visa application centre. I really hope that it is approved before I’m meant to fly next weekend. Otherwise my research partner in China has suggested that the only way is to smuggle myself in across the North Korean border. Which might actually be easier than filling in the Chinese visa form.

On the tube home I saw this advert. Living in Cambridge and working in Oxford I find it quite sweet that Canterbury, where I was before this Oxbridge arrangement, is selling itself as a punting destination. The entire time I was there I hardly even considered punting, especially because I’m pretty sure the available river to punt along is only about 5 meters long. Maybe this is aimed at people who fancy punting, but not quite enough to commit to it for more than ten minutes? Actually, when you put it like that, that sounds much better than the two hours that seems standard in Cambridge. I think I’ve just convinced myself to visit Canterbury.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.