Lazio_Lad

By Lazio_Lad

Last Light , Dunnottar Castle

I had a lazy Saturday.
I have got lots to do, but decided to put everything off until Sunday.
I went down town and had a coffee and did a bit of shopping and then decided to go blipping back of three.
I could see that the most breaks in the cloud and the light was strongest on the horizon south of Aberdeen. So I decided to drive out to Stonehaven and down onto the old coast Road.
I joined the footpath at the war memorial and headed south towards Dunnottar Castle.
The heavy low cloud of earlier was breaking up and the sky was superb,
although the light only lasted about half an hour.

William Wallace, Mary Queen of Scots, the Marquis of Montrose and the future King Charles II, all graced the Castle with their presence. Most famously though, it was at Dunnottar Castle that a small garrison held out against the might of Cromwell's army for eight months and saved the Scottish Crown Jewels, the 'Honours of Scotland', from destruction.
Crown, sceptre and sword now take pride of place in Edinburgh Castle

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.