Airport abstract

There is no abstract art. You must always start with something. Afterward you can remove all traces of reality.

I’m keynoting at Agile Portugal. Kent Beck, of XP “micro fame”, is opening the conference before me. He’s late - sleeping in at his hotel. It all goes fine, eventually, and I’m in Rob’s eduction workshop by 11.

After lunch I head for the airport. I’m ridiculously early, but I’m looking forward to the isolation afforded by the lounge. I sit on the lounge balcony, sipping Douro, listening to two guys play lovely guitar on the main concourse.

The flight is delayed. I sleep. Passport control passes. Another lounge, where I snatch dinner before heading to Glasgow. I pull out of the parking just after midnight and head to Edinburgh to collect Angus. It’s 1:30 and he’s almost ready.

We re-supply at Asda and get home at 2:30. I’m bushed. And tomorrow I have the joy of readying the house for our weekend Airbnb guests.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.