... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

St. James's Park: Pelican Landing

More attention grabbing/seeking in large.
Extras: 
Shelduck trying to take off with only one entire wing
Swan family flotilla
Mother and cygnet
"Sometimes I sit and think, and sometimes I just sit" [Blipped initially...]

This is the youngest pelican, and they don't clip its wings.

Visited St. James's Park, and there is a new brood of seven tiny cygnets (on top of the original seven, which are now rather larger...). The Ross's goose was no longer on her nest, but we couldn't find the parents (or their brood?), so I'll check back mid-week.
I liked trying to capturing comparisons (inc. pen & cygnetscomparing feet, "Am I like that?") but think that my cutest alternatives were peering and heads down.

Others on Flickr here (or right from the larger cygnets)
p.s. I'm almost surprised that the clarity wasn't marred by the thickness of the air, as chokingly laden with pollen as it was...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.