Wine,Women & Song

By CelloNerd

Marie


I am still floating on a cloud after a wonderful evening of music with Richard at Jazz Alley, enjoying the super tight harmonies of the Manhattan Transfer. I had never before been to this warm, intimate, elegant Seattle venue, perfect, I think, for nearly any type of musical performance. We sat up front, just a few feet from the relatively compact stage, close enough to almost reach out, and grab a singer by the ankles! The group sounded every bit as hot and juicy as I hoped they would, and their 3 piece band was superb.

Here is Janis Siegel, Brooklyn girl, performing solo, singing 'Marie' by Randy Newman. The group sang numerous, high-energy numbers, including their most-requested piece, 'Route 66', but I found Janis' interpretation of 'Marie' to be particularly moving, and my favorite moment of this memorable evening, next to schmoozing and shaking hands with the group outside the ladies' room after the show.

I loved you the first time I saw you
And I always will love you Marie
I loved you the first time I saw you
And I always will love you Marie

You're the song that the trees sing when the wind blows
You're a flower you're a river you're a rainbow
Sometimes I'm crazy
But I guess you know
And I'm weak and I'm lazy
And I've hurt you so
And I don't listen to a word you say
When you're in trouble I just turn away

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.