Llangelynin Church

We set off for Colwyn Bay in North Wales this morning. I used to holiday here as a child in the 1970s, but it's long seen those days. The A55 which cuts through the town has made it's impact felt, and nearby places like Llandudno and Conwy seem to have stolen the tourists.

But it was good to see that things still happen here. There's an independent camera shop here - Cambrian Photography. And they put on a show each year. I'd never heard of it before, and came across it via a landscape photographer I follow on YouTube - Thomas Heaton. He was doing a talk here this morning, so I thought it was worth the one and a half hours drive.

He was great. He gave us a potted history of how he got to this point in his life, and came across as a pretty grounded and thoroughly pleasant person. I really identified with his thinking on being in the great outdoors and photography. There was even an article in Outdoor Photography mag which I found in the post when we got back!

Having no interest in photography, apart form the results, my other half made his way to the sea front while the talk was on.

We then went for a walk near Conwy. We started at the Sychnant Pass and made our way to this remote medieval church. It was a little hazy so our views of the estuary weren't great, but it was a really quiet and peaceful walk.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.