We made it

How fantastic was that. So much to see, so much to smell. Colours, fragrances, textures - total sensory overload, in a good way.

We met up with Charlotte who was working there as Manager of the press tent. She managed to wangle us some lunch, not just a bottle of water and a sandwich as I had imagined, but a three course lunch with champagne! I felt like a princess. The room was air conditioned and the tables were set for a wedding (or so it appeared). Charlotte looked very smart and professional, I must admit I had a bit of a proud mother moment.

We had a gentle stroll round the Ranleigh Gardens and the artesian section - always my favourite. I like the way people look for the shady spots under the trees to rest and take in the atmosphere - we were no exception. 

Even the toilets were an experience, well the hand washing anyway. A huge silver bowl with 4 taps coming out of a central column. Lots of fragrant hand wash and hand cream to freshen up with - perfect.

It was a long but enjoyable day. Our coach left at 4.30. It was fun to watch all the people walking off with their sell off bundles of tall elegant delphiniums, foxgloves, and acers. Some people had small fold up trollies full of blooms.

The journey back was a good one apart from the numerous drop offs that are part of it. We arrived back just after midnight and pulled in behind another bus full of grown men getting changed, and yes there were a few bare bottoms on display as we left the bus, I did laugh.

I chose to blip some photos from Chelsea that were my favourites and not the popular shots seen in the media.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.