GracieG

By GracieG

Another Toilet (in my occasional series)

According to B the Ladies toilets at Weybourne Station on the North Norfolk Steam Railway has won an award.  I’m not surprised, it’s great and even includes a ‘whatnot’ displaying a potted aspidistra!  These are a few shots of the features (also see extras).  They are very authentic and there is a polite notice (not shown) just next to the cistern pull chain requesting that care is taken when flushing as the sanitary ware is over 100 years old.  Such a change from today’s modern toilets with their deafening super-charged hand dryers. This was one of those occasions when I wish I had had the wide-angle lens on my camera, but as there was a queue of ladies waiting to use the cubicle, I felt it impolite to make them wait while I changed my lens, so I just grabbed a quick couple of shots.  There was 'real' soap too!
 
The station was the half-way point on an excellent summer walk with B and A from beautiful Sheringham Park (designed by Humphrey Repton) down towards the coast and alongside the rail tracks to the station.  There was a ‘Dad’s Army’ day being held at the station and the entertainment provided was being enjoyed by all.  See Bom’s blip for a fuller picture of the event
https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2447814607964735031
 
The walk was definitely enhanced by the beautiful spring flowers alongside the walk, including some late bluebells and pretty red campion. The views out to sea and the sunny, warm weather plus the company of my friends made it very special, especially after recovering from a horrible migraine which had sent me to bed for over two days.  I’m not seeking sympathy, but just to say how much a sparkling morning and feeling well means so much.  Life is good :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.