fotoflarewithclare

By tookie

Who YOU lookin at?

I'm a teenage babe
Attitude to match my face
And hair to die for!

We actually got up early (for me these days) and headed to the dog park with the hooligans ....their goal to romp and slurp slough waters and mine to seach out the baby herons in the rookery at the dog park.  Both hooligans and human goals met!
    As a child on this day my family always decorated family graves with flowers....my mom's garden had peonys and irises blooming at this time so she would pick many of them and also some roses...then my aunts and my family all trooped out to the cemetary to put the flowers all around....my Aunt Emily would clip the blooms just so and then my brothers and I filled the gravesite containers....we sought out relatives from the past who were long gone, the grandparents on both sides, and my one deceased baby brother.  Although surely a somber time for the adults, for me there was something very soothing about this tradition.  even though I no longer live in Ohio, years ago when back there with my son , I took him and his cousins out to the family gravesites.  The kids cleaned up the gravemarkers and we put flowers down.  The kids seemed to like doing it and it brought memories back to me.  It was a touching and sentamental moment in time. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.