BRIANW

By BRIANW

Football, Bloody Hell!, Aylesford

Watched the Champions League Final on Saturday and I so wanted Liverpool to win - it was not to be. I shouted myself hoarse, swore like a trooper (endlessly for the last twenty minutes or so), wished every ill possible to the cynical Ramos, marvelled at Bale's jaw-dropping goal, couldn't believe Karius could make two such basic, stupid errors and felt totally bereft at the final whistle.
Then today I saw these two kids just having a kick about and it brought back to me the pure joy of playing football and imagining yourself as one of your heroes. If only professional football was more like this and less like the Real Madrid win at all costs version.
The title, of course, refers to Alex Ferguson's quote after he won the treble (and no I'm not a Man United fan) but I loved his sense of utter disbelief.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.