Mono Monday : : Finale

When I cut this handful of grasses, I was just trying to get them out of the way of something else, but I liked the graceful curve of the stems, so I stuck them in a jar and left them on the porch. I also precipitated their grand finale by forgetting to put any water in the jar. By this morning, all the little seedlike grains had burst forth from their pods along the stem and were busy disseminating themselves everywhere. So although it is definitely a finale for the those particular stems, it is definitely a new beginning as those seeds disperse and grow into more gracefully curving grasses...everywhere.

This is a holiday weekend, but when you are retired, holidays are just a day when everything is crowded...The weather has been see-sawing back and forth between dreich and cool and hot and dry. 
We will be celebrating another sort of finale on Friday with Peter as he graduates from Maria Carillo High School. When Will graduated outdoors two years ago, it was 103 degreesF and we were all carrying spray bottles of water, and the graduates were wearing shorts underneath their gowns. No telling what it will be like this year.

My camera won't upload pictures to my computer, my printer won't connect to my WiFi and a Berkeley friend sent me a DVD of a documentary she made with money from a crowdfunding site which I contributed to, but we don't have a DVD player anymore. I hate technology.

I'm making Peter a quilt for his dorm bed. When I went away to college, I met my roommate for the first time when I arrived with my suitcase. My parents had driven me up from Pasadena and took us to JC Penney's on Shattuck Avenue to buy matching bedspreads, and curtains for the window which had a panoramic view of the San Francisco Bay. The dorms are no longer dorms, JC Penney's is long gone and I only lasted one semester with the roommate.   I don't suppose Peter and his roommates are going to care much about matching anything....so as I did for Will, I'm making his quilt out of T-shirts and sports jerseys some of which he's had since Little League. Definitely low tech....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.