one small step

I recall where I was on July 20, 1969, when the first human put a foot on the moon.  I was 16 and at a summer camp. I can remember the sheer amazement I felt as I looked up at the moon that night, thinking that someone was there!
My dad went to his grave believing that it was all a NASA set up and that I, like millions of others, had been duped!
Every day we take things on trust, something that is now a rare commodity in days of "fake news".
I believe that humankind has been on the moon. I don't need to  have been there to have witnessed it to believe. I remain someone who trusts. I know that leaves me vulnerable to being taken in... but that is something I am willing to accept if it allows me to be generous towards others. Wouldn't it be great if we regained and offered trust to one another.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.