Welcome to my World

Well, normal climatic conditions have returned to this blighted east coast after yesterday’s day of summer. The picnicking in the Meadows went on until nearly 11pm last night, but by 7am this morning the parkies had been out to pick up the litter that hadn’t found its way into the gigantic black refuse bins, although this seagull was busy trying to undo their efforts by tossing out plastic containers holding no food.

Now as I sit waiting for a friend to arrive for coffee, I see figures like relatives of the grey man of Ben Macdhui (Fearlas Mor) appearing out of the mist as they walk along the path from Marchmont into town.

My friend who is an optimist told me the sun would be out this afternoon. I am a pessimist and said she would see the error in her prediction as it wasn’t coming out to play today, tomorrow or the next day either. It’s a pity neither of us is a gambler because I am certain I would have made a tidy sum- mid afternoon is here and the trees are still in the mist..............but wait...... there is a definite glimmer in the sky...... oh now I am even more pleased that we didn’t take a bet on it!
That’s the thing about pessimists, we sometimes get pleasant surprises.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.