An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

The Staircase of Edgar Allan Poe

Staircase in an early 12th century dining hall.

Look how wonderfully decomposed this wood carved raven is, through the natural ravages of time and thankfully, no attempt at repair either. (It might not be a raven, but I'd like to think it so, to fit in with my title)
 
The missing slats in the staircase have been added to by nailed on modern ones, possibly from the local B & Q.

Even the rope to keep the occasional paying visitor at bay is wonderfully tassled and OLD looking.

This dining hall was not the main attraction, run by charitable trust of the place I visited, so I was left entirely on my own. Those I encountered elsewhere spent literally no time at all, apart from their visit to the tea room, as it was a very sunny, hot Bank Holiday Monday.

Give me ultra ancient heritage over an over-priced pot of tea, anyday.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.